OUR TEAM

The core members of the community are Elizabeth, Nicky, Delia and Nozipho, with the ecosystem of the research community participating at different levels.

Prof Elizabeth Henning
NRF South Africa Research Chair
Director: Centre for Education Practice Research
Editor:South African Journal of Childhood Education
+27 (0)11 559 5102
ehenning@uj.ac.za
@ElbieHenning
Prof Nicky Roberts
Associate Professor: Centre for Education Practice Research
Director:Kelello Consulting
+27 (0)71 525 8389
nroberts@uj.ac.za       nicky@kelello.org
@kelello_
Prof Nadine Petersen
Chair of the Executive Committee of the CEPR.

Prof Petersen is a rated NRF researcher and expert in teacher education, with a special interest in social justice in Education and Service Learning. She is also Vice-Dean of the Faculty of Education.

+27 (0)11 559 5103
nadinep@uj.ac.za
Nozipho Motolo
Research Coordinator: SARCHi Chair
+27 (0)11 559 5099
Prof Jari Lavonen
Head of Department of Physics and Chemistry Education

+358 5041 55317
+358 2941 29635
jari.lavonen@helsinki.fi
Prof Catherine Snow
Educational Psychologist and Applied Linguist

+617 495 3563
+617 495 5771
catherine_snow@gse.harvard.edu
Prof Annemarie Fitz-Stratmann
Head of Educational Psychology unit

+49 (0) 201 183 2244
+49 (0) 201 183 4350
fritz-stratmann@uni-due.de
Prof Pirjio Aunio
Professor of Special Education

+358 50 3182379
pirjo.aunio@helsinki.fi
Dr Lars Balzer
Head of evaluation unit

+41 58 458 27 73
lars.balzer@ehb.swiss
Prof Antje Ehlert
Professor of Inclusive Education

+49 331 977-6314
+49 331 977-2191
antje.ehlert@uni-potsdam.de
Prof Caroline Fitzpatrick
Assistant Professor of Psychology

+902 769 2114 (7325)
+902 769 2930
caroline.fitzpatrick@usainteanne.ca
Dr Gillian Godsell
Academic, writer and radio presenter

gillian@godsell.za.com
Ms Shafika Isaacs
Research Associate, Centre for Education Practice Research

+27 82 900 5793 
  shafikai@telkomsa.net
Dr Anni Loukomies
Lecturer, Viikki Teacher Training School

+27 82 900 5793 
+27 82 900 5793 
  shafikai@telkomsa.net
Prof Riikka Mononen
Associate professor, in Special Needs Education

+47 2285 5638 
  r.m.mononen@isp.uio.no
Dr Ari Myllviita
Lecturer in Chemistry and Mathematics, School of Viikki Normal School

+35 850 556 0012
+35 829 415 7552
  ari.myllyviita@helsinki.fi
Prof Carisma Nel
Professor in the School for Human and Social Sciences for Education

+018 285 2639
+018 299 4238
  Carisma.Nel@nwu.ac.za
Dr Reetta Niemi
Lecturer, Viikki Teacher Training School, alaluokat Learning Culture and Interventions

+35 850 448 5885
+35 829 415 7525
  Carisma.Nel@nwu.ac.za
Ms Carol Nuga
Chief Director/ Sector Specialist: Education Strategy, Planning Research and Analysis, Monitoring and Evaluation

+12 357 4519
+12 323 0389
  Nuga.C@dbe.gov.za
Dr Garth Spencer-Smith
Research Associate, Centre for Education Practice Research

+84 624 9803
  gspencer-smith@uj.ac.za
Prof Paola Uccelli
Professor of Education, Harvard Graduate School of Education

+617 496 3601
  paolauccelli@gse.harvard.edu
Ecosystem of the Research Community
  • Core members
  • Visiting researchers
  • Current PhD and MEd students
  • Visiting Researchers
  • Alumni
  • National Research Foundation
  • The Academy of Science of South Africa